Crystal

In class someone brought up the notion of memory not being like a crystalized image. I understand that what they were getting at was that it was not a solid, pure object. Still, I cannot help but believe that memory and crystal are much alike. There is a large crystal in the nation Museum of Natural History (I looked but I could not find the actual picture of it… i may have taken one I will look through my photos later and post if I can find it) than when you looked through it, you got a split image. It is hard describe, but it was like seeing the room behind the crystal from dozens of different sets of eyes, but each image while of the same room was different in shade or color. I think memory is a lot like that. Two peoples memories of the same event will likly occur in the same setting involving the same people, but the tone of the memory varies by individual.

Leave a comment